Lasagna Stuffed Peppers

I think I’ve made it pretty clear how much I love Italian food. I grew up with pasta, Texas Toast, and breadsticks being served with every meal. When I started eating clean, it took some time for me to accept the fact that I don’t need several servings of carbs at with every dish. In fact, depending on my activity level for the day and previous meal choices, at times, I try to avoid carbs with dinner altogether. Last night was one of those nights, so I had to be a little creative with my dinner plan.

Cue in; Lasagna Stuffed Peppers. Note; I make several versions of stuffed peppers, and my hubby said this was his favorite. Scoreeeeee. I think I can finally tell him about the house cleaner I hired 😉

You’ll need – 2 bell peppers (color of choice), low fat or fat free cottage cheese (I use Daisy brand), shredded mozzarella cheese, cooked ground turkey, organic low sodium marinara sauce (or homemade – see recipe below), fresh basil, ground pepper.

Cut the stem off of the peppers, and cut them down the center, clearing out all the seeds. Toss 1cup of pre-cooked ground turkey in 1/2 cup sauce. This will fill both peppers, all 4 slices, so spread it evenly. Next, combine 1/2 cup of cottage cheese with fresh ground pepper to taste, and 5 chopped basil leaves. Mix well, and also divide up between the 4 pepper halves. Last, top each pepper with mozzarella cheese shreds (just enough to cover each one when melted). Bake in the oven on 350 for 30 minutes, and enjoy!

Homemade sauce – you’ll need:
1 can of whole, organic tomatoes
Fresh Basil
1 clove of minced garlic 
Oregano

Put the can of tomatoes into a processor or blender, and pulse until liquified. You can leave them chunky if you like a bit of a chunkier sauce. In a saucepan, combine tomatoes, 5 leaves of chopped basil, 1/2 teaspoon of oregano, and 1 clove of minced garlic.  Heat until bubbling, and then let simmer for 20 minutes. 

2015-03-16 19.06.55

Enjoy!
new signature

One thought on “Lasagna Stuffed Peppers

Leave a Reply

